Cloudspeaker Vol. XIV. Vertex.

Cloudspeaker Vol. 14 Tracklist.

The return of the mixtape.

No elaborate mixing apart from smooth changes from one track to the next.

Cloudspeaker Vol. XIV is titled ‘Vertex’ because my recent trip to Kolkata and a stopover in Hong Kong represented – for the time being – an end to my travels in the East, as I soon to return to the West for a short visit in Paris and a long one in Berlin. My research project is not complete yet, but attending the Sex Workers’ Freedom Festival was definitely a climax and my time in South Korea will now soon be over.

This volume of Cloudspeaker includes music from Britain, Canada, Germany, India, Italy, Taiwan, Thailand, and the United States (in alphabetical order).

Enter The Vault to listen to other Cloudspeakers or download them here.

Track List

Tiny Tim – Living In The Sunlight, Loving In The Moonlight; Tata Young – Sexy, Naughty, Bitchy; Shreya Ghoshal – Chikni Chameli; Foyer des Arts – Penis & Vagina; Dire Straits – Wild Theme (Live); Leonard Cohen – In My Secret Life (Live); Sara Melson – Never Been Hurt; Richie Jen – Still Have Me; Mario Biondi & The High Five Quintet – I Cant Keep From Crying Sometimes; Thomas Newman – The Chimes At Midnight; Hidden Track

Shout-outs

Almost all of the tracks are intended as shout-outs to the following people: Tata Young’s and Shreya Ghoshal’s track are for Pon Pon and the children from Amra Padatik who gave such great performances in Kolkata, as well as for all organisers and participants of the Sex Workers’ Freedom Festival; Foyer des Arts’ and Leonard Cohen’s tracks are both for my amazing friend Paul who hosted and took care of me in Kolkata and who leads such a unique and admirable life there; Richie Jen’s track, though Taiwanese, is for my friends Helen, Calson, Annie and Dominic in Hong Kong – our time together was way too short, but I’ll never forget it; Mario Biondi’s track is for all the coffee shops in Haebangchon that have doubled as my office space, especially Café JeJe, Le Café and Gam Café; Thomas Newman’s track is for my sister whom I so much look forward to seeing again this fall; finally, Sara Melson’s track is for Chaerin whom I love like I’ve never been hurt before; and the very last (hidden) track is for myself, because I, too, am a little raindrop that’s looking for a place to fall. ^^

Total time 36.53. Created on August 13th, 2012, in Seoul.

About Cloudspeaker

Inspired by a friend I compiled a list of my top ten tracks of the last decade – which took me longer than I expected. I picked tracks of ten musicians or bands that impressed me over the last ten years and eventually had to add a bonus track to fit it all in. The result was Cloudspeaker Vol. 1. The title ‘Cloudspeaker’ and the artwork are used by courtesy of German product designer Johannes Tsopanides (Shapes In Play).

Leave a Reply

