Cloudspeaker Vol. XVIII. Mismatch.

Cloudspeaker Vol. XVIII. Mismatch.

The return of the mixtape.

No elaborate mixing apart from smooth changes from one track to the next.

Cloudspeaker Vol. XVIII was recorded right after I arrived back in Berlin, where I returned to to find some German language sources for my doctoral research and, more importantly, some much needed equilibrium. It’s the soundtrack to the last 3 1/2 months of maladjustment to living alone in Belfast. Cloudspeaker Vol. XVII is a collection of songs that I listened to on radioeins, a radio station in Berlin that I frequently listen to while cycling through Belfast, and some other curiosities. It’s not a very even mix, just as my life in Belfast isn’t – hence the title.

This volume of Cloudspeaker includes music from Austria, Britain, France, Germany, Iran, Nigeria, Norway, South Korea, and the United States (in alphabetical order).

Enter The Vault to listen to other Cloudspeakers or download them here.

Track List

Jacoo – Andromeda; GoGo Penguin – Hopopono; Daft Punk feat. Julian Casablancas – Instant Crush; Seeed – Cherry Oh; Stereo Total – Comme Un Garçon; Donita Sparks and The Stellar Moments – Curtains For Cathy; Meshell Ndegeocello – Conviction; Keziah Jones – Hypothetical; Anna F. – Friedberg; Luna Lee – Voodoo Chile; Bonus Track: Ramin Djawadi – The Children

Total time 39.30. Created on July 21st, 2014, at my sister’s apartment in Berlin-Friedenau.

About Cloudspeaker

Inspired by a friend I compiled a list of my top ten tracks of the last decade – which took me longer than I expected. I picked tracks of ten musicians or bands that impressed me over the last ten years and eventually had to add a bonus track to fit it all in. The result was Cloudspeaker Vol. 1. The title ‘Cloudspeaker’ and the artwork are used by courtesy of German product designer Johannes Tsopanides (Shapes In Play).

 

Leave a Reply

